Business Spotlight

Joyful Celebrant

Creating memories and bespoke ceremonies

View Profile

Cinnamon Alley Cafe

Cinnamon Alley Cafe

BRIDGESTONE AWARD "Best in Ireland 2011, 2012 and 2013.

View Profile

Local Election Results from Nenagh Electoral Area

May 201426th

Local News, Announcements

Local Election Results from Nenagh Electoral Area

The local elections took place on Friday 23rd May and counting continued over the weekend all over the Country.

The Nenagh Electoral Area had a long wait for the results of the 1st Count which finally came at approx 12.30am on Sunday morning when Independent Candidate Joe Hannigan topped the poll with 2028 votes and was elected. A second count was completed in the early hours of the morning before counting was suspended until 12.00pm.

Seamie Morris became the 2nd candidate to be elected when the results of the 6th count came through around 3.00pm and things moved swiftly on then until all 9 seats were filled by 8.00pm Sunday evening.

The following is a full list of Councillors elected to the new Tipperary County Council from the Nenagh Electoral Area. 

Joe Hannigan (IND)
Seamie Morris (SF)
John Carroll (FF)
Michael O'Meara (IND)
Mattie Ryan Coole (FF)
Hughie McGrath (IND)
Phyll Bugler (FG)
Ger Darcy (FG)
Fiona Bonfield (LAB)

These Councillors will now join with 31 others from all over Tipperary to form the new 40 seat Tipperary County Council.

Photo: Joe Hannigan arrives in Coolbawn Quay on Sunday night for a formal celebration of his election to Tipperary County Council.

Share this: