Business Spotlight

Cinnamon Alley Cafe

Cinnamon Alley Cafe

BRIDGESTONE AWARD "Best in Ireland 2011, 2012 and 2013.

View Profile

New Moth Poetry Prize

August 201714th

Features, Announcements

New Moth Poetry Prize

New Moth Poetry Prize Replaces Ballymaloe International Poetry Prize

We are thrilled to announce that the former Ballymaloe International Poetry Prize is now THE MOTH POETRY PRIZE. After seven years - with winners that include Lee Sharkey, Abigail Parry and Ann Gray (whose winning poem was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem) – we thought it was about time. You can read more about The Moth Poetry Prize in the Irish Times.

The Prize remains the same: €10,000 for a single unpublished poem, with 3 runner-up prizes of €1,000. Anyone can enter, and there's no line limit – so there's no excuse not to! 

We're also thrilled that the 2017 Moth Poetry Prize is to be judged by Daljit Nagra, the first poet to win the Forward Prize for both his first collection of poetry and its title poem. He recently published his third collection, British Museum, with Faber, and teaches poetry at Brunel University London and is Poet in Residence at BBC Radio 4.

The four shortlisted poems will appear in the spring issue of The Moth and the overall winner will be announced at a special award ceremony at Poetry Ireland in Dublin in the spring of 2018.

CLOSING 31 DECEMBER 2017     - You can enter online or read more about the prize on our website

Share this: